Quick & Easy Dinner Recipe: Mushroom Chicken

My rules for cooking dinner are as follows:

  • must be easy to cook
  • must not require many ingredients
  • must be affordable (no crazy expensive, exotic ingredients)
  • must be calorie/diet-friendly

So last night, I decided to give a recipe my mom used to throw together a try. This is seriously about as easy as making spaghetti for dinner. All you need is sour cream (I used reduced-fat), cream of mushroom soup (I used 98% fat free), salt to taste and chicken.

Open the can of soup, and scoop/pour into a mixing bowl. Prepare the soup as directed on the can, by slowly mixing in the extra can of water.  Add 1 cup of the sour cream to the mixture, and stir well.

After that, pour some of the mixture into your baking pan, and then place desired amount of chicken on top. I only wanted to make three breasts, but you could probably stretch this out to five or so breasts.

Once you have the chicken in the pan, go ahead and use the rest of your mixture to cover the top of the chicken.

Then place the pan in the oven and bake until the chicken is cooked. I baked mine at 350 degrees for probably about 30 minutes. That’s not exactly right because I was working on carving pumpkins at the same time, so make sure you’re checking it so that it’s not over/under done. While your chicken is in the oven, however, go ahead and make some rice. I like brown rice, so I just used a box of minute rice and cooked it in the microwave. Follow regular package instructions.

I also used a package of Steamfresh Broccoli, which cooks right in its own bag. Once all the food was finished cooking, I put about a cup of rice on my plate, then put a piece of chicken and drizzled sauce over it. You can see where I repeatedly checked the chicken to make sure it was cooked since I wasn’t closely following the clock and I have no timer in my kitchen.

Mmmm… delicious. 🙂 The points will depend on how you make it and how much sauce you use, but what you see on my plate here was roughly 8 points.